RSS Feed

Sometimes FREE sucks!

Ok I know that the military healthcare is free so I should really not be complaining about it, but sometimes free just plain sucks! I am very irritated with Darnell (the army hospital here at Fort Hood) today. This is probably because I spent most of my day there and  was tired and cranky and had lots of time to think about all the things about Darnell that aggravate me!

Whenever you book an appointment they always tell you to arrive 15 minutes early. This aggravates me for two reasons:

1. If they really want you to be 15 minutes early for your appointment you should actually arrive at the hospital 30 minutes early. You are likely to spend at least 15 minutes driving in circles around the parking lot looking for a parking space. Sure they have the “stork” parking for expecting mothers but Fort Hood seems to have an over abundance of expecting mothers so these spots are rarely open.

2. Even if you arrive 15 minutes early you will most likely not be seen on time. If your lucky you will be seen by a doctor only 15 minutes late.

If the doctor, or PA , or nurse, or midwife doesn’t know what is wrong they just give you different drugs to try. My husband went to the doctor several times before he actually got a doctor to understand that no drug was going to magically cure his jaw. We now have a pharmacy at our house that consists of 800mg ibuprofen, naproxen, flexal, roboxin, vicoden, percocet and adavan (plus two more I don’t know the name to).

I don’t know if this is true for the whole hospital but in the OB clinic I feel like a number! Up until my last appointment I had never had a provider that actually read into my chart and discussed it with me. It makes me angry that the scale is in the hallway and not in a private room. I am pregnant and already feel huge so I would really appreciate it if I could be weighed in private! I also find it very annoying that when they take my vitals they never tell me what they are. They also ask, “Is your answer yes to any of the normal questions?” I always play stupid and pretend I don’t know what the normal questions are so they have to ask me each one.

The decor in the OB clinic vitals room is annoying. As I sat there waiting today all I had to stare at was a very detailed poster that showed the male and female reproductive system and explained reproduction. This annoyed me because it’s an OB clinic. I assume that most of the people who are patients there probably know how reproduction works considering they are pregnant! I would much rather look at a cute Anne Geddes poster or some other cute baby picture than a drawing of a penis, balls, sperm, a uterus and a vagina. I think I may put this in the suggestion box.

For some reason the computer system at Darnell has me listed as Jessica Carpenter and even though I have had this changed about 5 times and my ID card says Jessica Maldonado they can’t seem to get it straight. Some of the receptionist are smart enough to put 2 and 2 together and figure out that since my first name, birthday and social are all the same its safe to assume that I am Jessica Maldonado/Carpenter. It’s the not so brilliant ones that get a funny confused look on their face that annoy me! They have to think about it, scratch their head, ask their boss, check my id three times and finally ask me if my name is something different before they figure it out! This usually isn’t that big of a problem but it is annoying and last time I went to the “wonderful” lab they refused to do my lab work because my name on my id was different from my name on the lab orders. I understand they have to follow policy or whatever but where was that policy the whole time I was pregnant with Ceci and did all my lab work with no problem?

I detest the pharmacy! Today I asked my provider if she could give me a handwritten prescription so that I could take it off post to have it filled. She explained to me that if I get my prescription at the hospital it’s free and if I take it off post then there would be co-pay. Instead of going off on her like I really wanted to I just agreed. In my head I was thinking, ” I would much rather pay the $3.00 copay off post then wait for hours on end in the pharmacy for my prescription.” Once I got down to the pharmacy I immediately regretted agreeing to have my prescription filled on post. I had already spent almost an hour in the pharmacy earlier in the day for my husband’s prescription. This time was much worse though. I was cranky and tired and really just wanted to go home and sleep. Not only was the waiting room packed full of people (there were not even any seats available) but it was really really hot. I found a nice place against the wall and tried to not be grumpy.  I failed though because there is something about being in a hot room full of sick people with cranky kids that just makes a person grumpy.

I guess it’s like my husband says, “It’s free and you get what you pay for!”

I have to end this on a funny note. Skyla just told Carlos Yes Mam when he told her to do something=)

About jessdmaldo

I am a mother and a wife and my life is extreemly not interesting at all! I love my kids and my husband and all the laughter they cause me!

One response »

  1. Man you make me sound like a pill popper..lol and by the way it aint free I have to bust my ass stay late and put up with bull shit from stupid bald tiny man cydrome people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

