RSS Feed

Forks in my Front Yard!

Posted on

So maybe this whole germ-a-phoebe thing is rubbing off on me after all. I spent the morning cleaning my kitchen. I originally was just doing the dishes but when it was all said and done I did a lot more than just dishes. I washed the top, front and sides of the fridge, the cabinets, the baseboards and the walls with Lysol disinfectant. I also ran the self cleaner on the oven. So now my kitchen is cleaned to germ-a-phoebe standards.

While I was cleaning I was thinking about something. In the short time that I have worked in dispatch for the police department I have learned two things.

  1. People call the police for some very ridiculous things.
  2. People do some very ridiculous things to get the police called on them.

Here are a few examples of the off the wall things that people call the police department for:

  • Family dollar will not refund me the $1.07 for the crayons I bought my daughter that broke the first time she used them.
  • I am not receiving all of my mail since I moved.
  • I am at Applebee’s and there is a roach in my food.
  • Animal control is not answering the phone. (believe it or not I’ve gotten this call more than 5 times)
  • Is it legal for a female to walk around topless?  (funny thing is that it actually is legal for a female to walk down the street topless in Texas)
  • Someone left the windows of their car down and it’s about to start raining.
  • I woke up this morning and there were plastic forks all over my front lawn.

Here are a few examples of the stupid things that people do in order for someone to call the police on them:

  • Trying to rob the same bank two days in a row
  • Walking around naked in the neighbor’s backyard
  • Fighting with their baby mama/daddy
  • Pulling a knife on their little brother because he refused to drink milk
  • Driving their mom’s car thru the garage after an argument about a girlfriend
  • Leaving their kids/pets in the car while they go into the store when it’s 100 plus degrees outside

This is why I love my job. I have only been in dispatch for a month and this is just a small list of all the funny things I get to deal with. There is hardly ever a dull moment!

On a totally different note-we saw a SMECKLE—it’s a BOY! The name we have picked out is Orlando Souve Maldonado.

About jessdmaldo

I am a mother and a wife and my life is extreemly not interesting at all! I love my kids and my husband and all the laughter they cause me!

Leave a Reply

